Version 55 of the editor now has the additional feature of storing your inspection history by synchronising the data. Effectively, this means your inspection data can stored in more than one location. It can be saved online on the OCIMF data servers and locally on the devices that have the editor software installed.
When you synchronise data using the "Sync" button, it checks and compares data and ensures that data matches in both locations. Where it finds a conflict you will be notified when synchronising.
Normally when using the sync feature you would click on the sync button located towards the top of the screen in your editor software:
At this point all newly created inspections are uploaded and any existing inspections are checked to see if data stored on the server matches the data stored locally on your device.
When you synchronise, you may see an error like this:
Or you may see an inspection in your documents list with a sync error:
In order to resolve the conflict click on the inspection in your editors documents list, you should then see a "resolve conflict" screen, such as this:
A conflict usually occurs because an inspection has data that is in someway significantly different either on the server or on your device has been detected.
You are presented with two choices, to either remove the report from your local device which will delete the inspection and download the copy that is saved on the server. Or to replace the server copy with your local copy. You will need to be sure which version is the most up to date. Once you are certain which version is to be the most complete and up to date, click on the appropriate option, then click on the "Resolve Conflict" button below.
Your editor will then make the appropriate update and the conflict warning will be removed from your document list.