Removing a vessel from SIRE when your organisation is no longer the operator is a short and simple process. However, as you can see from the instructions, please make sure you choose the right option choice between disassociating a vessel and decommissioning it.
To remove a vessel from your account please follow the instructions below:
When you click on the button you are presented with two choices, “Detach” or “Decommission”:
To remove a vessel from your fleet because you are no longer the operator and it is to be transferred, click on the Detach button. The Decommission button is only to be used when a vessel is no longer in use and is to be decommissioned/scrapped. Using this button makes the vessel record unavailable to other operators. Please be certain that the vessel is not to be transferred to another operator before making this choice.
Once you click on the Detach button you are taken to a final confirmation screen:
If you are certain you wish to detach the vessel, choose yes from the “Confirm Detachment of Vessel” field as shown above. Finally click on the red “Detach Vessel” button to confirm the removal of the vessel record from your account